A word for the Keynotes serie

When I started as a Sybase DBA more than a decade ago, there was no blog, no community, and very little documentation on how basically the storage engine worked. So I did what everybody was doing at that time: keeping keynotes in a notebook. The notebook soon became filled with crappy notes and I started a second one, then a third one, etc…

You may find many useful piece of information here and there about how SQL Server manages memory, handles IO, scheduling, query optimization, but apart from MSDN (which is good but not exhaustive), everything is said in many places, so having my own central store of information makes things easier for me.

Don’t get me wrong: this does not pretend to look like regular blog posts. It is rather a bag of information on a subject. Every post will be updated regularly as I gather new stuff. This is close to what Neil Hannon says :

‘The writer writes for himself, not for you’

Writing down things has always been a way for me to grasp concepts and memorize details of an implementation. I guess I’ll tweet or communicate when anything gets updated.

Keep in touch. ~David

About dbaffaleuf

I've been in the IT for a decade administering mission critical RDBMS systems such as Sybase ASE and Microsoft SQL Server, for some of the largests investment banks, asset managers and telecoms in France. I came to the position of principal consultant on SQL Server technologies at CapData Consulting in 2006, where I still manage a team of senior DBAs, do expertise jobs and software support for our remote monitoring solutions. I also have the privilege of sharing my experience by teaching classes on SQL Server topics, and blogging in french at http://blog.capdata.fr and in english at SQL Server Central. (http://www.sqlservercentral.com/Authors/Articles/David__Baffaleuf/405129/).
This entry was posted in Keynotes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

